Festive Fun at DCC Winter Concert!

Music filled the hearts and minds of all in DCC last week as the College hosted their annual Winter Concert. All proceeds from the event were going towards the newly founded Headstrong Committee.

Preparations for the evening were made well in advance, with the stage being constructed with help from TY students. At seven o’clock the guests flooded in and got ready for a night of entertainment. Guests were welcomed by hosts, Julian Nolan and Orla Cahill.

From the very beginning, it was clear the talent on display was remarkable. The show was opened by the school’s choir, conducted by past pupil Laura Shields, who sang “Carol of the Bells”, “Don oiche ud i mBeithil” and “In the Bleak Midwinter” to rousing applause. After only a short number of rehearsal sessions, the choir sang beautifully and we look forward to hearing more from them in the New Year.

Next on stage were individual performers. Molly Laforgue wowed with her rendition of “Put Your Records On” by Corinne Bailey Rae while Gráinne Honer sang her very first solo,  “The Night We Met” by Lord Huron. Aoife Daly and Sarah Oliver gave a moving performance of “For Good” from the iconic musical Wicked. Sean Lyons performed his original song “As the Smoke Clears”. Sinead Kearns displayed a great amount of linguistic, as well as musical ability singing “Toxic” by Britney Spears, as Gaeilge. Mychaela Shevlin gave her take on Sara Bareilles’ “She Used To Be Mine”. Harry Fennell displayed his innate songwriting abilities when he performed his own song, “Stephen’s Garden”. The 6th Year music class paid tribute to Aretha Franklin when they took to the stage with “I Say a Little Prayer”. Ella O’Neill wowed the audience with  “The Wonder of You”.

The Concert also showcased the school’s talent in performing poetry. 3rd and 5th Year students Dean Kelly and Kieran Conroy performed extracts from Stephen James Smith spoken word poem, “Dublin You Are”. There wasn’t a sound to be heard in the hall as Gavin Murphy also performed a Stephen James Smith poem, “No Other Words”.

The School band were met with thunderous applause following their performances of Christmas hits, such as “ White Christmas”, “All I want for Christmas is you” and firm favourite “Feliz Navidad”. The 2nd Year music class were first on stage after the interval with Andrew O’Sullivan taking the lead on the Wham classic “Last Christmas”. Bringing the house down, Jacob Mwale and James Tyrell performed “Merry Christmas Everyone” with Ms. Lindsay and Ms. Lowry providing back up alongside the School Band. There was time for one more tune as the School Band ended the night on a high with Slade’s Merry Christmas Everybody.

Congratulations to all our acts but in particular to our 6th Year students who have been performing at the Winter Concert for the last six years. They have helped create a night of excellent entertainment which is a firm fixture on the school calendar. Very well done to our MCs for the evening, in particular, Julian and Orla for their hard work and to Ms. Gentles for her work with the students who introduced the acts.

A big thank you to the Sonia Francis, Sharon Shevlin, Ger Collins and all in the Parents Council for their support in providing refreshments. Special thanks to the teachers who were involved in preparing the acts for the stage, in particular, Mr. Collins for his encouragement and support to the music students in DCC.

We wish all our students and teachers a wonderful break and we look forward to creating more memories in 2019!


Singers: Gillian Weston, Aoife Daly, Sarah Oliver, Gráinne Honer, Mychaela Shevlin, Ella O’Neill, Ciara Stell

Piano and keyboard: Sarah Oliver and Tom Moroney

Guitar: Seán Lyons, Dylan Whyte, Sinéad Kearns, Adam Hanlon

Bass: Amy Nugent

Drums: Luke Dyas

2nd Year Music: Andrew O’Sullivan, Dylan Whyte, Robben Barnes, Kate Rubbathan, Allison Dillon

6th Year Music: Molly Laforgue, Gillian Weston, Andrew Grace, Adam Hanlon, Sean Lyons, Harry Fennell

Choir: Isobel Sutton, Katie Wood, Charlotte Garcia, Andrew O’Sullivan, Alex Caverly, Alison Dillon, Robben Barnes, Doctor Harley, Kate Rubbathon O’Reilly, Jade Murphy, Evan Dolan.

By Jenny Thompson, TY Journalism