Student Council 2017-18

After a long two weeks of preparing for Friday, 29th of September the Student Council Election was held in Donabate CC. The first election took place at 8:30 and began with 5th year students. The sixth year election took place afterwards with the fourth year’s election taking place last!
Everyone in the Shelley and Dickens class were very busy doing the required jobs to make sure the election process went efficiently and according to the set agenda. Concurrently, the Junior Cycle elections took place next door.

The elected nominees were voted by the students who chose a balance of male and female representatives and who they thought would be the most suitable to speak for our students within the school. The elected students now take on the responsibility to help to ensure that our school continues the progress of the previous Student Council!

It was a great turn out for the 2017/18 Junior Cycle elections. 95% of 1st year voted, 89% of 2nd year voted and 93% of 3rd year students voted. In total,93% of Junior Cycle students voted.

Well done to everyone who were nominated for the elections. The new Student Council will begin their duties next Monday when they meet formally for the first time.

The representatives for the 2017-18 student council are:

First Years
Jamie Doyle
Michael Nwabueze Gozie
Alannah Dunne
Second Years
Amy O’Flaherty
Max Murray
Third Years
Ryan Weldridge
Penny McCarthy
Fourth Years
Eoghain McMahon
Aoife Hughes
Fifth Years
Fionnuala Laughey
Fintan O’Reilly
Sixth Years
Anna O’Reilly
Weronika Wierzbicka
Tiarnan Healy
Oumar Balde

Thanks to the Shelley and Dickens classes for carrying out the Elections in an efficient and fair manner. Thanks also to Vanessa Burke and Ryan Hogan for this article. We wish the incoming Student Council every success.