Boys GAA Secure Semi-Final Spot

10th May 2022

Latest News

Last Friday, our U14 GAA team, coached by Mr. Hopkins and Mr. O Meara, played their postponed quarter-final against Coláiste Éanna up in the St Pats pitches in Ballymastone. It kicked off at ten past one in a slight drizzle creating a tough atmosphere for the players.

Kevin Burke, left corner- forward, commented, “It felt a bit dead with no supporters appearing because of the weather.” Despite the circumstances, Donabate managed to score a few early points in the first twenty minutes but it wasn’t long until Coláiste Éanna caught up with the half-time score of three points apiece.

The introduction of second-half substitute, Andy Caswell proved to be a fruitful one as his incisive runs and control in front of goal yielded a hat trick alongside two further points. Kevin Burke also came off the bench and his link play alongside Harry Stenson, SJ Jones and Liam Murray turned the tide in favour of DCC. Burke also hit 1-1 for the home team pushing them into a comfortable lead.

The other three points were scored by Harry Stenson and Graham O’Brien. Donabate CC won by six points with the final score being 4-07 – 3-04, insuring Donabate’s position in the semi-finals.

To their credit, Coláiste Éanna did not throw in the towel and two late goals led to a tense final few minutes but with the Donabate defence resolute, they stood firm and clung on to the win.

After interviewing some of the second-year players, they mentioned that some of the players who stood out were Daire Gleeson, Conor O’Leary, James Freel and Liam Murray. They also noticed that some of the opposition played well, number 11 being the most noticeable.

Well done to all players and best of luck in the semi-finals!

DCC: Daire Gleeson, Conor Brady, Harry Stenson, James Freel, Liam Murray, Sean Kennedy, Brian Collins, Conor O’Leary, Cian Latham, Calum Wright, Tiernán O’Rourke, Michael Manning, Graham O’Brien, CJ Jones, Liam McNamara, Andy Caswell, Jack Scott Lee, Jack Leahy, Harry O’Mahony, Kevin Burke, Aidan Bukovec, Finn McGivern.

Report and Pictures by Ava Pender and Hazel McGoey, TY Journalism