Rugby Team Perform Well at Blitz

16th March 2023

Latest News

Recently, DCC’s junior rugby team took part in the Fingal cup blitz in Malahide Rugby Club. DCC competed against 3 other schools: Malahide Community School, Fingal Community College and Ardgillan College. 

The blitz got off to a rocky start with Donabate facing Ardgillan College. It took Donabate a while to get settled into the match. Once they did Donabate made some fantastic defensive tackles by Kevin Burke and Sam Scott Lee. The team also put immense pressure on Ardgillan’s strong defence, making some outstanding efforts to score. Despite Donabate’s excellent performance, the team was defeated. 

Despite the loss of the previous match, Donabate kept their heads up and challenged Malahide for their second match of the day. DCC held up a strong defence with some great defensive tackles. DCC’s John Gray then made an excellent attempt to deliver his team a try but was tackled mere meters from the line. For the rest of the match, it was an even performance from both teams, still having no score from either time. Moments before the match concluded, Malahide broke through DCC’s defence and scored a try. Finishing the game with a 0 – 5 defeat.

DCC finally got their breakthrough in their final game against Fingal. DCC had an outstanding defence with some fantastic tackles from Kevin Burke and Babalo Falentsini. Courtesy of Conor O’Leary and Kevin Burke DCC achieved 2 tries back to back, followed by a conversion from Daniel Grace. DCC kept up the score and delivered another try from Jack Scott Lee. The match finished with a fantastic try from Daniel Grace and a conversion from John Gray. At full-time, DCC defeated Fingal by 28 – 0. 

Well done to the team and their performance in the blitz and thanks to Mr Best for all his hard work and Ms Fennell for accompanying the team. The team will have another blitz next Thursday and we wish them the very best of luck! 

Team: Babalo Falentsini (capt), Jack Scott Lee, Donagh Creen, Kevin Burke, Conor O’Leary, Sam Scott Lee, Daniel Grace, James Stanbridge, John Gray, Conor Brady, Graham O’Brien, Seamus Moore, Sean Anthony Doherty, Adam Reilly, Ambrose Omukhudu, Jordan Omukhudu, Jayden Doran, Luke Buckley, Patrick Reid, Bryan Emorinken, Josh Gaffney. 

Report and photos: Katelyn O’Hara and Alison Higgins, TY Journalism