Student Council

10th October 2014

Latest News

This year’s Student Council elections took place on Friday 26th September. The Third Year class, Walton, organised the elections as part of their CSPE Action Project. Classes were called down one by one to cast their vote. The polling clerks distributed ballot papers to each student and when their votes were cast, the papers were placed in a specially constructed ballot box. The tellers then carefully counted the votes and it was announced the following Monday who had been elected to the Student Council.

Congratulations to all the nominated candidates and especially to the elected representatives from each year. If students have any questions or queries they can approach any member of the Student Council.

The Student Council for 2014-2015 are;

First Year: Jodie Binns & Fionn Dineen

Second Year: Jack Dowling & Giorgia Tanner

Third Year: Shane Dowling & Katie Johnston

Transition Year: Darragh Maguire & Isabelle Dunne

Fifth Year: Rebecca Nolan & Adam Lyons

Sixth Year: Cillian Walsh & Roisin Rainey

Well done to the Walton class for their time and effort in organising the elections in an effective and co-ordinated manner.

The Student Council were privileged this week to meet the Chief Executive Officer of the Dublin and Dun Laoghaire Education and Training Board, Mr. Paddy Lavelle. Mr. Lavelle congratulated the students on their election and chatted to them about life in Donabate Community College and what their plans for the year were.

Sixth Year student Roisin Rainey has been elected the Council’s Chairperson and Killian Walsh has been elected Vice-Chairperson. Best wishes to the Council for the coming year!

Thanks to Amy Higgins and Erin Costigan for their assistance in this report.