U15s Boys’ Soaring High!

2nd February 2024

Latest News

Donabate Community College – 5

Luttrellstown Community College – 3

DCC qualified for the quarter finals of the Leinster Cup with a brilliant 5-3 win against Luttrellstown CC recently.

As the game got underway, DCC began to find their bearings but once they got into the game they dominated the first half and made many tackles and interceptions. DCC scored 3 goals in the first half with smashing goals from Hugh Martin and Lucas O’Dowd. Brilliant surging runs, a solid defence and terrific tackling inspired DCC to a three nil half time lead.

DCC started strong in the second half, making challenges and creating chances. Unfortunately, they couldn’t build on their first half scoring. Lutterellstown took advantage and within the first twenty minutes of the second half Luttrellstown had hit the net three times and drawn level.

Both teams were intent on looking for a winner. With a small amount of time left, it looked like the game was going to extra time, but DCC never gave up and a nice goal from Daniel Shalapay broke the deadlock and made it 4-3. DCC thought that was it and game was over. However, one last fiery attack from DCC, led to Jack Kirwan scoring a beautiful last minute goal ensuring the win for DCC and a place in the Cup quarter finals!

DCC: Nathan Powell ,Rhys Tormey, Cillian Freel, Paul De Bure, Ben O’Donoghue, Tom McMahon, Sean McCormack, Jack Kirwan, Hugh Martin, Daniel Shalapay, Lucas O’Dowd, Jacob Tucker, Sam Baird, James Stambridge, Mark Hughes, Ivano, Samardzic, Charlie Farrell, Rob Fullam, Eoin McCarthy, Joey Kelly, Sam Bukovec.

Report and photos by Callum Wright and Scott Mehlhorn, TY Journalism.

Donabate Community College – 4

Balbriggan Community College – 0

DCC’s U15s qualified for the League Final with a brilliant 4-0 win over Balbriggan CC last week.

DCC started brightly with great link up play between DCCs midfield and the attackers. Only 10 minutes had passed on the clock when Hugh Martin beat a defender and scored with the outside of his boot and slotted the ball into the bottom left corner to make it 1-0 to DCC. 

Just minutes later, Ben O’Donoghue scored from outside the box as the Balbriggan goalkeeper couldn’t handle the ball after Ben put a load of power behind the ball. 

DCC were in control from then on and continued great passing plays, building from the back and going all the way out to the wingers Daniel and Luca. After continual pressure from DCC, one of the Balbriggan players gave away a free kick at the edge of the box. There was no confusion on who was going to take the free kick as Hugh Martin stood over the ball right away. Hugh then took the free kick and it went straight into the far top right corner to make the game 3-0 to DCC going into half time.  

Once the second half started there was a few changes made in the team in defence midfield and attack DCC weren’t in control of the game as soon as the second half started but it was easy to tell that DCC were going to win the game as their defence was able to withstand any attack from the opposition.

About 15 minutes into the second half, DCC then found their rhythm again and kept pressing forward. Every time Hugh Martin would get on the ball in the middle of the park, one of the Balbriggan players would take him down and give away a free as they couldn’t handle how good he was!

Just minutes before the match ended there was great link up between Daniel Shalapay and Sean McCormack, Sean then went on to beat a couple players and scored a goal by hitting it just passed the keeper to make it a 4-0 win for DCC! Onto the final now!

A big thanks to Mr Hopkins, Mr Murphy, Mr Tully and Mr O’Meara for all their work with this team! We wish them every success in the final next Wednesday against Lusk Community College in Gannon Park, Malahide at 11am.

DCC: Rhys Tormey, Cillian Freel, Paul De Bure, Ben O’Donoghue, Tom McMahon, Sean McCormack, Hugh Martin, Daniel Shalapay, Lucas O’Dowd, Jacob Tucker, Sam Baird, James Stambridge, Mark Hughes, Ivano Samardzic, Charlie Farrell, Rob Fullam, Eoin McCarthy, Sam Bukovec.

Report and photos by Josh Duffy-Luximon and Finn McGivern, TY Journalism.