REPORT: First Year Girls Cup Final

20th May 2024

Latest News

Donabate CC – 1

Gorey CC – 5

DCC travelled to Arklow for a tip off time of 12 o clock against Gorey CC in their Cup Final. DCC had a full squad and were prepared to go and fight for their trophy. The Referee blew his starting whistle at 12:02.

Unfortunately, DCC were only settling down when Gorey CC scored in the opening minute. DCC did not drop their heads though and were fighting back. Gorey were pressing hard and unfortunately in the 10th and 11th minute, they scored again.

Gorey could have had more goals but DCC’s amazing goalkeeper Isabella Duke made great saves. As the half progressed, DCC launched several attacks and Kayla Clifford searched for a goal. With help of her team mates, Kayla found herself in Gorey’s box prepared to score. She took a shot and the keeper couldn’t reach it to make it 3-1. At half time, Ms Fennell had a serious talk with her team to keep them focused and encouraged them to keep their heads up.

Second half started at 12:35. Kayla Clifford was on the hunt for a second goal but unfortunately, Gorey’s keeper equal to the shots. In an even second half, both teams looked for more goals.

Sophie Nangle made a great run up the right wing and crossed into the box. Unfortunately the score stayed 3-1. Gorey fought back and launched their own attack but Isabella made a great save. Gorey were still trying. They took their shot and unfortunately Isabella reached, but her fingertips don’t touch it and Gorey score again in the 29th minute of the second half.

DCC’s defense was fighting hard to keep Gorey out and Lily Caswell made great clearances. In the last minute of the game, Gorey score. The final whistle blows and Gorey win the trophy with a 5-1 win. Hard luck to all the girls. Everyone played amazing but unfortunately it wasn’t their day.

DCC – Caoimhe Armstrong, Sive Ashe, Saoirse Bissett, Lilly Caswell, Makayla Clifford, Edith Cobbe O Neill, Mia Downes, Isabella Duke, Maisie Finegan, Mya Finn, Ciara Hand, Hazel Kiernan, Maya Kiernan, Violet Logan, Isadora Mulcahy Kyne, Sophie Nangle, Grace O Sullivan, Kate Ovenden, Francesca Penev, Rebecca Scully, Freya Smith, Clodagh Tobin.

Report and photos by Alannah Farrell and Katelyn Byrne, TY Journalism